Hoost - the greatest ever?

I will be the first to admit I am not an expert in the sport of kickboxing.

I have seen Raymond Deckkers, Rob Kayman (sp), & Benny Urquidez in limited fashion. However, I find it difficult to believe that any of them can rival the accomplishments of Ernesto Hoost.

I wonder if some hardcore fans of the sport can give some insight on where Hoost ranks in terms of the best kickboxers of all time?

Thanks,

buddie

Pastafarian is correct. As I see K-1 as the
pinnacle of kickboxing events, it is hard to argue with Hoost (who has the record for most wins and also went to finals in the first ever K-1) as being anything less than the best.

Why is Hoost not more revered on this board?

Michael Mcdonald

www.blacksniper.com

Here is a list of Hoost's accomplishments.

Fighters he beat: Maurice Smith (by KO); Aerts (I think they are tied at 2 wins a piece vs. each other), Andy Hug, LeBanner, Ray Sefo, Satake, Cro Cop twice by KO once by decision, Sam Grecko, Musahi, Leko, Schilt (even though I thought he lost), Abidi & Mighty Mo. I also thought he won in his fight vs. Remmy.

I am a huge McDonald fan, but he isn't even in the discussion. He's never won a GP.

He's the best K-1 fighter.

Kaman is the best ever, though

Saying Michael McDonald is the greatest kickboxer ever is like saying Frank Trigg is the greatest MMA fighter ever.

Hoost's 4th victory was BS IMO. He lost to Sapp in the preliminary round, got back in as an injury replacement, then got back in after losing to Sapp again when he was too tired to move on/hurt, and then he "won" the GP! Wow!

You can't be the greatest of all-time and lose twice in a row to Bob Sapp by TKO, when Sapp has, what?, one year of training at the time?

An improved Sapp has since lost to CroCop and Remy, so it really hurts Hoost's career...

he tried to avenge the loss, but the fight didn't happen in the end.