How big a guy can one beat?

I have about one years experience in submission grappling. I have often been able to submit guys that are about twice as strong as me (in submission grappling, without strikes). I say that because they can bench about twice as much as me. I know that squats and deadlifts are a better indicator of strength but first of all, very few guys talk about how much they can squat (so I don't know that information) and secondly, upper body strength seems to matter just as much than lower body strength for grappling, especially for us beginners.

It wasn't until those guys had had about half a year of submission grappling experience that they began to submit me about equally as often as I submit them. So, perhaps it's a rule of thumb that if a weaker guy has twice as much experience as a guy that's twice as strong as he, they will be about equally good on the mat? Just a silly idea.

But I sometimes grapple with a guy that is about THREE to FOUR times as strong as me and about twice as heavy. In this case, if I don't manage to get on top of him, which happens all the time, I feel like a CHILD grapping an adult. I can sometimes ride out his attacks for few minutes but it's really no contest. This guy has had less 6 months grappling experience, but he is athletic, competes in bench press competitions, bounces and generally just knows how to fight on the street. He's sort of natural.

I'm wondering:

Do you guys have an opinion on what the upper limit is in terms of how big your opponent can be until there is just no way he can be beaten with superior skills, technique and experience?

It seems to be possible to defeat a guy that's twice as strong as yourself, if you've been training for twice as long, perhaps. But when he's 3-4 four times as strong, I'm having doubts if I could ever defeat such a monster.