How long did it take you to bench 225 lbs?

The two plates a side is sort of a milestone for most lifters. Visual gratification for all the hard work you put in. How long did it take you to put those four plates and do a set like a boss?

Because of my crap ass physical genetics, it took me slightly under 2 years. I was 6'1" with barely an ounce of muscle on me. When I started working out I was only benching 75 lbs. I was the antithesis of MrFluffyHippo.

How long did it take you to reach the milestone? Phone Post 3.0

7 months Phone Post 3.0

I think it took me about a year or so. I doubt I could do it now, though.

not long but I weigh 245 so that's not a great accomplishment lol.

About tree fiddy Phone Post

Started with two plates and did 3 sets of 10. Then went to 225 and did 3 sets of 8 and the 315 3 sets of 6. But I rarely benched. I preferred dumbbell presses. Phone Post 3.0

~10 months if I remember correctly

About 3 months after I started lifting heavily. I was 16 and weighed about 165.

That was a long time ago, though. I'd have trouble with the bar now.

About a year to get a set of 10 Phone Post

No offense but 2 years to get to 225 is sad, you should probably do jazzercize. Phone Post

Probably about a year and a half. But after that I made a huge jump and got to 300 within the next 6 months Phone Post

14 years...old.

All at once?

I warm up with 225 but yeah it took me nearly 2 years of steady training. Helps that I'm short also helps that I OG it adds a good 20-30lbs to your bench Phone Post 3.0

Just once? I just started lifting bench again like a month ago after not really benching for a year. I think I should be able to lift 225 at least once right now since I'm doing 185x10 and 205x6 or 7. Haven't tried though. I'm 6 foot 235. Phone Post 3.0

SoupCan - I warm up with 225 but yeah it took me nearly 2 years of steady training. Helps that I'm short also helps that I OG it adds a good 20-30lbs to your bench Phone Post 3.0