I need job advice

I’m currently a process engineer specifically on the industrial water treatment side, and I really do enjoy my job.

however, I had an acquaintance from a wedding this past weekend reach out to me about becoming a quality engineer for his company. Kicker is, I’d start the first 18-24 months in Japan. I have a young family, my son is only 6 months old. My wife is a teacher, and we have an established life where we are at.

this is a better company than I currently work for and once I came back to the states I’d have a very nice job and career placement waiting for me. 

Not sure what to do guys, it’s kind of a once in a lifetime opportunity. At the same time it will be really damn hard to just pack up and leave for two years.

also if anyone followed my other thread last week I learned that my dad isn’t my biological dad. What a fucking weird two weeks.

Do Not Leave Your Family.

your children’s brains are forming now…it’s most important that you are around from ages 0-6.

Obviously, talk to the wife about it, but it sounds like a great opportunity. 

If your wife is cool with it and coming with you, I'd say do it. Your son Isn't going to remember most of his first few years, anyway. 

Getting paid to live in a foreign country while upping your skillset seems like a pretty sweet opportunity. 

It would also depend on the location in Japan and the standard of living you're able to maintain while you're there. . 

- black Doug 

dougie -

If your wife is cool with it and coming with you, I'd say do it. Your son Isn't going to remember most of his first few years, anyway. 

Getting paid to live in a foreign country while upping your skillset seems like a pretty sweet opportunity. 

It would also depend on the location in Japan and the standard of living you're able to maintain while you're there. . 

- black Doug 

That’s my general thought process. Forgot to mention family would absolutely be coming with me.