I work in sales

And my boss, store owner of a franchised out appliance/hardware store, is pissed at me.

Frat warning

First off I don't work on commission, secondly I have no sales quota to reach and neither does he, his income is based on the stores sales no minimum/maximum.

Now to why he's pissed. We have a huge sale coming up next weekend and I've defered two customers to buy that weekend that were buying full kitchen appliances. I've done this in the past and have had a very high return rate. He thinks I'm warding off customers and they won't return and this and that.

I have the second highest sales for our store because of this tactic I believe, and I only do this to people who aren't in dire need. The only person with a higher sales total is the store owner lol.

Am I in the wrong here? Or is this a good sales tactic and also to add this won't effect his income because it's in the same fiscal month. Phone Post 3.0

I am a manager of a retail sales store and do this all time. Customers are appreciative when you at least make them aware of the sale and give them the opportunity to save money.

What you could do to make your boss feel more comfortable about letting people walk is get their contact info so you can touch base with them a few days before the sale to follow up. Phone Post

Not in sales, but this type thing always comes down to being good manager in my mind. If an employee is delivering then why cause them grief? Phone Post 3.0

He's not thinking about the lifetime value of those customers IMO. Be honest and straight-up and you'll increase customer loyalty.

Rip and run type tactics are part of why 'salesmen' sometimes have a bad reputation to the public.

My .02 cents. Phone Post 3.0