IDP Camp Review

Hi all,

What follows is my review of the recent ROSS IDP camp. Although I was burdened with a touch of the flu and respiratory problems, I was able to participate in almost all of the activities. Let me begin by saying that I went into the camp, despite my best intentions, with some preconceived opinions about how training should be conducted. My background is very diverse, but is most highly influenced by my training under Tony Blauer and Stevan Plinck. My only concern for most of my martial life (which is just about all of my waking life) has been solely focused on surviving real-life violent encounters. Despite having taken many "less desirable" paths in my training, I have had the pleasure of training with the two men above who have taught me more than I can every explain or repay, except by continuing their work. All that having been said, it was somewhat difficult for me to come the IDP camp with a "beginner's mind." Thankfully, it was a fantastic experience despite that.

Let me state here, for the record, that the ROSS instructor cadre are a very highly disciplined, skilled, articulate and truly passionate bunch. They want their students to learn - quite possibly more than the students themselves. Of all that I experienced over the weekend, this fact stands out in my mind more than anything else. There were no pretensions, no ego-posturing, no power-tripping or mud-slinging. It was quite simply a very unique, professional and impressive group. Anyone seeking training would have to go a very long way to find a better cadre of trainers.

Also, of great interest to me was the group of students themselves. Many were from very diverse backgrounds, but all seem to be of the highest quality as people – another unusual and powerful testimony to the professional organization and structure of the ROSS system.

Continued: