Increasing flexibility.

In my experience on the mats, I have come to realize that I am not very flexible in my hips. I plan on working my dexterity to increase flexibility so I can better utilize my legs on defense, specifically for guard maintenance. Google has a lot of techniques but I wanted to ask you members what has worked for you and others in your experience. I want anything and everything from exercises and stretches to diet. Help me become JCVD-like! 

mobilitywod.com

1 Like

Look into kinstretch. It has helped me immensely.

Yoga has helped quite a bit. I went years believing my back was destroyed. My first month of yoga showed me that while my back does have problems, a lot of it is caused by my hips. I've been doing it pretty regularly for about 10 months now and my day to day back pain is nearly gone and I can now move like someone much younger than I actually am when I'm on the mat.

Philip Proctor - mobilitywod.com

This. The book is good too ("Becoming a Supple Leopard")

XmmaAddictX -

I've heard of it. What makes it effective?

I have yogaforbjj. Im not consistent though

Keep it coming!

fjennings - Yoga has helped quite a bit. I went years believing my back was destroyed. My first month of yoga showed me that while my back does have problems, a lot of it is caused by my hips. I've been doing it pretty regularly for about 10 months now and my day to day back pain is nearly gone and I can now move like someone much younger than I actually am when I'm on the mat.

What yoga are you doing and how often? Thanks.

I've been doing the Gymnastic Bodies Foundations and Handstand courses and they're pretty amazing. they've solved problems with my body that years of physio never realy helped with. They pair every strength move with a mobility move.

The other things I'd recommend are Pavel Tsatsouline's Relax Into Stretch and Paul Chek's Elastic Steel For Grapplers. Scott Sonnon has some mobility products for grapplers, but I've never used them.