Information Overload

Team:

I'm just beginning to introduce the Blauer tactics, techniques and terminology to the practice here at my school. My dojo is my "laboratory" where I will be sharpening my teaching and technical skills before I start offering seminars.

One point: If self defense preparation is 33% Psychological and 33% Emotional, than should 66% of class time be spent "lecturing" participants on these elements initially?

Last night I held a class on what I call "Blauer Basics". Before I knew it, however, my ready to punch and kick karate class was chewing through my academic dissertation and begging for the next physical drill/set of moves.

I admit that as someone who enjoys "hitting", I found myself chafing at the bit at times during the PDR sessions as well. (That is, until I began to realize the impotance of understanding the psychodynamics of the attacker and the attacked!)

Have you also had a hard time walking the line between wanting to inform your students without overloading them too much info and not enough action?

Does anyone have experience/ideas on how to strike a balance? I'd really appreciate the input!

Respectfully,

Gary Khoury

Gary,

Excellent questions! I have a few off the cuff thoughts...

From both my personal experience, and from what I have heard and learned from others on the Team, this is a very common problem. What you are experiencing is the proverbial mega-pardigm shift from subject to substance. The by-product of this usually is a radical transformation of the TYPE and AMOUNT of information that you provide in any given class.

During this transformation, it is enormously tempting to talk students to death because you are so charged with the powerful changes you are experiencing viscerally as a result of much of Tony's material.