IT Beginner: Advice Needed

Hey guys, I just graduated from a good college but I have a science degree and I want to go into IT. I started getting into web design(html/css) and I have 2 years experience doing that. I have built a bunch of comps and also worked on some of the comps at my last job. I took an A+ practice test yesterday and knew most of the stuff.

I am applying to jobs right now, but I feel that my resume is being overlooked because my lack of real IT experience.

1)What certs are co's looking for and are best for a beginner?

2)I was thinking about getting a second degree, are there any reputable online IT degrees out there? Is it worth it?

I would very much appreciate any advice you could offer.

"1)What certs are co's looking for and are best for a beginner?"

what do you want to do?

CCNA is standard entry-level for networking.

the MCSE and certs leading up to it are standard for Windows stuff.

Red Hat Certified Technician (this is what you want) and Engineer are the standard for Linux.

programming, who knows. Sun has certs for Java, but I don't know who cares about them.

I get the impression nobody cares about the + type certs, except for A+ for entry level..

"2)I was thinking about getting a second degree, are there any reputable online IT degrees out there? Is it worth it?"

the ITground should give you some good online ones.

remember, online schools associated with brick and mortar colleges have more cachet, up to a point.

if you want to go into programming, look for a brick and mortar or online CS degree. Online is hard to find, I think RPI or University of Rochester offers one.

"3)I finished with a 2.9 GPA :( Hypothetically speaking, if I were to put a 3.0 down on my resume would the company check with the school to verify it?"

mildly exaggerate, overbroaden experience, and get creative in listing your accomplishments, up to a point - but never, ever lie.