Job Security

I know in a recent thread everybody and their dog in the OG have these $130,000+ a year salaried jobs but what about those who are actually part of the statistics? 

How is everybody faring with job security in these crazy ass times? I am an electrician and it is the biggest wave of a shit sandwich ever. Finding good jobs that last more than 6 months is extremely difficult - it gets tiring always hopping from job to job always looking over your shoulder. I am in the union and making good wages now but it's always hit or miss. I have never had a salary job in my life. 

I'm considering changing careers but haven't a thought in hell what I would do. I'm 29 in August so I'm not entirely decrepit yet.

What kind of job security do you have and how long did it take you to get trained/schooled up to attain your position?

Have a good weekend bros <3

Huh, nearly the same age and the same profession.

Here in the Canadian prairies we have remained steady when it comes to construction, so job security in the trades is okay. One still may have to jump around but there always seems to be some sort of work somewhere in the province.

Though it must be said that there will be a shortage of skilled labour in our future, we have a very small amount of apprentices and an even smaller amount passing our national exams. So theres less and less journeymen filling much needed positions, especially supervisors who are willing to manage a crew.

A good branch you can work into is as a technologist. Its another 2 years in college but they are in demand in a lot of sectors. Becoming a lineman is also a good compliment to the electrical trade, another feather in the cap.

I’m in the process of cleaning out the building I work in , we will be permanently closed as of July 10th so job security is not so good right now , i am getting 18k in severance pay so I’ll be good for a while