Just got my FOID card, next steps? (Advice?)

I just got my FOID card in the mail.  I am planning on taking some classes to learn about gun safety.  A gun store near me has a couple classes on the topic.  Is there anything else you would suggest?

Thanks for the advice.

Good for you.

fastnotch331 - Good for you.

How about some advice?  I am a newbie.  I need some guidance on this.

try to find places that let you rent guns, and shoot as many different types as you can, or try to find people/groups that will let people try swap guns...

you could find a NRA class or private instructor.

you could see if you can find a range where they have instrutors and pay for private lesson.

What part of IL are you in?

Severnsmustache - 

Near you.  NW suburbs.  You referred me to the attorney that I hired to appeal my company's real estate taxes.  Any advice will be greatly appreciated,

Gun handling, gun deployment, safe handling, good habits, striker fired vs hammer, stances and grip and accuracy.

One of the most important things is a place to shoot. If you're normally coordinated and so forth, you can learn alot by watching YTs. Try to find an outdoor range. I detest indoor ranges and I don't even consider them safe in comparison to outdoor ranges where normally it's just you at the table or one other person and not a long line of dimwits who don't know how to keep the muzzle pointed downrange.

Beyond the 4 laws of Cooper, I add another. "5" Don't play with your gun. That means avioding dry firing (and having a negligent discharge), Don't tell others, don't show to others, don't let others handle.

I would advise cleaning it at the range when the barrel is hot with a boresnake.

In the beginning I carry a new platform without one in the chamber. In general err towards safety as a beginner.

Ditto on trying to shoot a lot of different handguns before buying. You really can't go wrong with a G19, but it is striker-fired.

WidespreadPanic -