Just watched whiplash...

I don't get the hype. Average at best. I did not relate to any of the characters and the film lacked a solid story. Oh, and the ending was horse shit. Easy, predictable way out. Phone Post 3.0

And that song was dog shit. I could understand if it was hot for teacher, but not that crap Phone Post 3.0

Thanks for letting me know to never acknowledge your opinions on film, or anything artistic for that matter.

Have a good day.

Don't disagree. Liked it more than you did but i see your point.

Just finished watching his movie. It's fuken incredible: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1255953/?mode=desktop Phone Post 3.0

I'm a musician and I've been in situations with studio guys and super intense dudes of that type that went to schools like the one in the movie. In my experience it was as far from what actually happens in those studios and schools as possible.

I'm sure it was highly dramatized just for the movie and not supposed to represent what that environment is actually like, but still..... It failed big time Imo. Even as a guy that can sit thru anything revolving around music and showing rehearsals and stuff like that that would normally seem mundane I just didn't dig it. Did nothing for me. I've only ever heard of one guy that could be that intense. Supposedly, one lesson with him will make you feel like you never wanna play again because he just destroys your technique, time, intonation, posture, style and everything you do right off the bat. But even still, he doesn't do it like that. I don't know anyone that would keep a job in that environment acting the way that guy did.

Again, it's movie, and God knows there have been plenty of highly unrealistic situations that make this one look like an every day occurrence. But for a movie that supposed to be personal, realistic, and pushing real people to be their best, it failed so fucking hard. And that ending was horse shit. Phone Post 3.0