Kevin Jordan Pre-fight Interview

On December 10th Kevin Jordan will be fighting for Big John Dixson for the vacant FFC Heavyweight Title in Biloxi Mississippi. Jordan is 2-0 in the FFC this year, and is coming off a big submission win against Kerry Schall in the XFO. Below is an interview conducted earlier today.

FFC: When did you start fighting?

KJ: I Started training and fighting in 1999.

FFC: What were the early influences in your career?
KJ: I was influenced by the early UFC’s and with my background in college and pro football I thought I’d be cut out for it. It just seemed like a natural progression after my playing days in football were over.

FFC: Whom do you train with?
KJ: I train at Ranger Jui Jitsu in Fort Benning, Georgia. We teach Jiu-Jitsu to the soldiers there and we are a part of the “Modern Combative” curriculum for the Army.

FFC: You had two tough fights getting to the title shot. Who was tougher, Sieffert or Loveless?
KJ: Loveless was the longer of the two fights and went to a decision, so it probably was the tougher of the two. I’m not say that Sieffert wasn’t tough He was! But Loveless had so much conditioning, heart, and was very elusive while I had him mounted. I spent a lot of energy trying to hit him from the mount. He is a real smart fighter.

FFC: Was there a moment in either of those matches when you thought “uh oh” I ‘m in trouble?

KJ: Yes, Sieffert came out real hard and I had tried several techniques I planned to use right off the bat and none of it worked. He defended them or absorbed them and was still coming. I was like hey what’s going on here.

FFC: What did that teach you?