Know Anything About Mel Menor?

I am currently attending the University of California at San Diego, which -- contrary to the name -- is actually located in La Jolla, California. Since I'm a lowly freshman and don't have access to a car, I've been looking for places to train within a few miles of the University. After doing a few web searches, I stumbled upon The Boxing Club, which is headed by Mel Menor.

The Boxing Club's web page (http://www.theboxingclub.net/instructors_Mel.php) states that Menor has held two world titles: WKA Lightweight World Champion and K-U Japan World Jr. Welterweight. He also won the K-1 Super Bout in 2001 and 2002 and boasts an overall professional record of 28 wins, 0 losses. It all sounds very impressive.

However, being a great fighter does not necessarily mean someone is a great teacher. So I was wondering: does anyone know anything about Menor, aside from his professional fighting exploits? Either as a person or as a teacher---is anyone familiar with the guy? I'd appreciate any sort of additional information.

Thanks,

Darin

I've been looking for a good gym too. I talked with Mel for a little while and he seems like a nice
guy and obviously knows what he's doing. I
suggest you check out one of the classes to see if you're interested, since it's not that far from UCSD.

I train all the time with mel i attend his classes and do privates with him. He's an awesome trainer! I can't believe how much i improved working with him.

I'm sure Mel is a great fighter and teacher but his record is perhaps.........outdated? He was KO'd by Masato on the undercard of Rickson-Funaki. =) JJgirl

Mel is a good fighter and a very down to earth person. He started out in Las Vegas with my current instructor who has nothing but good things to say about him. I haven't seen him since he closed his school on Miramar Rd way back (Mel's House of Thunder).