KO's dont understand

Yes, alot of boxers chew gum constantly for that reason. Besides bridging, you can also do Muay Thai neck wrestling drills. This really works the neck muscles and the upper back muscles that support them.

Another drill that others have mentioned here and which I agree is an awesome drill is to tie the ends of a towel to a dumbell, say 20-25lbs. Clench the loop of the towel between your teeth and do neck raises. This works your jaw AND neck!

Khun Kao

Also, the lower jaw connects to an area near the back/side of the skull. A solid punch on the button transmits force along the jaw into the area where the jaw connects to the skull. This part of the brain (just inside the concave area at the top of the back of your neck) isn't very well protected and controls certain sensory functions. I can't remember the name of this part of the brain (I studied A-level biology years ago), but I think that's also why blows to the back of the head are illegal in boxing.

A good exercise to work the front and side of the neck to resist punches, is to lie of your back in a sit-up position but with your hands by your side. Then lift your head 1/2 inches off the ground. Then rotate your head looking left then right. Do not rest your head for 50 reps. Then do 50 reps from chin to chest before 50 ear to shoulders. The first few times you do this is a real killer and shockingly painful the following day!!! Go for it!!!

Khun Kao, thanks, it makes much more sense now

i heard that chewing gum strengthens your jaw, is that true? what else besides bridging can you do to strenghten your neck?

You have to consider what a KO actually is. Its a concussion injury. What causes a concussion? Its when the head is moved so violently that the brain crashes against the inside of the skull, causing it to bruise. When that happens, your brain temporarily shuts off and you're out cold, KO'ed.