Krav Maga or Jiu Jitsu?

I want to begin taking one or the other. I have no prior martial arts experience but I see these as my 2 choices because they seem to be the most applicable to real world situations. So which would be the best starting point?

how many commandos do you plan on attacking in your near future?

Krav Maga for self-defense (and I'm a BJJ/SW/MT/MMA guy)

As many commandos as possible.

I am going to become a police officer when I finish my degree. I also hang out in a lot of bars where it seems that even if a fight starts one on one it always ends with someone else jumping in.

In my experience unless you are training with live resistance going full force the training is useless. For law enforcement go with jiujitsu for sure. Make sure you work a lot on wrestling (upper body clinch) takedowns.

Definately Brazilian Jiujitsu because you may not have the choice and end up on your back! But try and incorporate some wrestling/judo in your training to supplement the standing clinch!

if you dont know, you dont go....

heres a nugget of advice from a guy that's been screwed by barfighting, stay home, find a nice bar to go to!!!!

best answer by far

wrestling/kickboxing/muay thai/boxing/brazilian jiu-jitsu/arnis-kali-eskrima/judo/krav maga .......... dude learn it all. it'll take a lifetime. have fun : )

As a Police Officer and Defensive Tactics instructor, I would definately say that just as in MMA, you cannot limit your training. Learn BJJ, but stick to gross motor skills in grappling and not over-complex submissions, etc. Stick to baisc control and escape from bottom. Krav Maga is great for weapon retention and for gross motor skill striking and "closest weapon, closest target" mindset.