Labor Laws Question FRAT California

TLDR: Got a job making 60K, have an offer letter, been working there since August, boss suddenly wants to demote me and pay me 48K. Is this even legal?

FRAT warning I'll try to keep this succinct.... I started a new job for a small environmental services contractor back in August. Theirs only 2 other employees along with the owner and his wife. Everything has been going fine, I've had no complaints from my boss and I get along with everyone. I am still learning the ropes so I a not outputting a ton of work just yet. Because we are contractors we must account for every hour we work on our time sheets every week. Each hour must be assigned to a particular project so we can bill the client, we use a third party time sheet software (Salesforce) so all my hours must be assigned to me by my boss, which I can then use to plug into my time sheet. On Wednesday my boss called me in and asked why I had been putting in so many "General Office" hours on my time sheet. If I put hours into general office I am not making money for the company as nobody is getting billed for that time. I explained to him I have not been getting enough work, and the projects I have been getting have been very small, just 6 or 8 hours each so their hasn't been enough work for me to fill a 40 hour week. It was a drawn out conversation with my boss and his wife, but basically he was trying to blame me for not being proactive enough and chasing him around to let him know I need more work, which I actually have done on a couple occasions. I was under the impression I was still new and still learning so it was OK that I took a little longer then anticipated to finish some projects. Anyways the meeting ended on a decent note, I didn't think we had a problem. I finished out my day and went home. Last night at 11:30 pm I get this long email with a letter attached telling me that going forward my boss wants to demote me, cut my pay by $12,000 a year and I have to follow se