Looking for IT Job, Need Advice

I plan on relocating from Chicago to Columbus next year and want to get into IT. I graduated with an MIS degree in 2001 but have not held a related job since then and do not care to pick up and start over in my current field (real estate) in a new city when I move.

That being said, I am hoping that some of you can provide advice as to what I should spend the next year doing to make myself marketable. I.E. what languages/technologies to brush up on. I have done a little coding here and there since I have graduated but my skills are pretty weak right now.

Coding always came pretty easy for me, so I would imagine that I could take a few refresher courses here in Chicago and have a working knowledge. The problem is that I have no idea what employers are looking for these days.

Hopefully this isn't a pipe dream and I can really get back into IT. Thanks for anything you can offer as far as advice goes.

ok. we need to get more specific.

are you interested in being a,

programmer?

sysadmin type?

network guy?

what, exactly, tickles your fancy.

Sorry!

Interested in programming, that is what a bulk of my education consisted of and what I most enjoyed.

The little bit of networking and sysadmin I learned really didn't do anything for me.

ok.

most jobs in this market are for stuff like Java or C#.

so, you'll probably pick one of those two paths. With Java, you'll need to know a bit about Windows and Unix, and with C# you'll need to know a bit about Windows.

if you're into web development, PHP is big as well.

there's also some space for Perl/Python/Ruby programmers at certain types of jobs, Internet companies and ISP's especially.

Ruby on Rails is taking off as a web dev framework.

you'll need to know XML, SQL, HTML/XHTML, Javascript as well with any of these, in all likelyhood.

check the local market and see what is in demand.

You're gonna miss the Chicago pizza.

RoR is on the spot........