Magic the gathering

I haven’t been into magic for years, but I used to. My short history is, I played a bit in 93-94, revised/ice age/4th. I sold off those cards, and then in about 2012, I was working at a school and some of the kids would play magic on their breaks. I was like hey, cool, I used to play. Next thing I know, I’m buying cards and building decks as a way to connect to the students. I started playing with 3 or 4 kids, and before you know if i have half the school, 30 kids or so, playing magic together and reaching out to me for cards, games, etc. I had a Friday elective group where we’d trade, build decks, do drafts. It was a super fun time for me, I was connecting with my students better then ever before and these antisocial kids were also connecting with each other!

fast forward to last year. I’ve been away from the school for about 5 years. I started selling off some of my better cards, dual lands and such. Then just in the last couple weeks I started digging through cards again and what I found blew me away. There were total shit cards worth nothing that now are valuable because some set in the last few years has made useless cards from the past suddenly valuable! So weird. 

I really don’t know much about mtg, been out of the loop for many years. But it astounds me the value of some of these older cards! If you got into magic cards early on, it was a better investment than sports cards by a long shot. Anyone here with a decent collection?

also just in case anyone's like "yeah right, these dorky cards can't be worth anything..."

A lot of cards we thought were shit as kids are actually really powerful unique effects and therefore quite valuable depending on reprints.

Lions Eye Diamond comes to mind as one I left basically untouched as a kid and thought it sucked but it’s now a legacy/vintage staple.

runeterra is a far superior game to magic

Positive Energy -