Matt side escape posture?

Matt, I have your second series. You discussed the importance of the boxing position relative to posture when escaping side mount (cross side). On your Florida seminar tape, you made a point of telling the attendees that the top arm should always be pummeling under the oppt.'s arm/armpit (underhook position). I may have misunderstood the boxing position strategy. Should I be seeking the underhook position as a primary goal when getting to my brace position? Is it a preference matter? I actually feel like I can manipulate the oppt.'s weight BETTER with the boxing position. Any thoughts or tips? Thanks.

TTT for Matt...

Would it be a matter of creating/maintaining some space with the "boxing posture"... and then when the correct energy is there, seek the underhook as a way of escaping the bottom?

Eagerly awaiting Matt's reply.

-Kev

since i am only a student i cannot answer this question!

Tysaw,

Matt will most likely get to this later as he just got back to Portland.

In the meantime, the boxing posture is:

1) A strong base from which to work, move yourself in relation to your opponent, and launch several escapes from. (Some sample Push / Pull reference points being far side underhook, far side hip, near side arm pit, near side hip.)

2) A stable base to begin with or return to given your timing did not initially allow an effective escape. (Opponent gains or regains their base and collapses your bracing structure and / or direction of movement.)

Initiating or reacting the brace position that seeks the opponent's far underhook as a reference point is described in the Florida seminar as a solid starting point and Matt stating to begin there is simply a way to assure you are usually one step ahead of your opponent. (Timing)