misinformation as a whitebelt

Just curious how many Bjj guys heard that the closed guard dosent work as a white belt and that you should always opt for the open guard.?? (total rubbish). Several blue belts told me this as a white belt.

I would say those blue belts are misinformed, if they're not purposefully misleading you.

Different styles of open guard are important to learn and feel comfortable with as soon as possible, but for a complete beginner, I would say things might be happening too fast for him to keep up with. Closed guard slows things down a little bit, give him more of a chance to think and try some techs.

Yeah, I heard this crap when I was a white belt. Now, that I am a blue belt I am glad I never listened to that nonsense. I of course never tell any white belts this when I roll with them.

It's probably that the blueblets had just discovered their open guard game.  I remember when I was a white belt my closed guard sucked.  I would constantly get stacked and passed.  Then when I was a new bluebelt I started working some open and 1/2 guard and could pull off a few sweeps.  It wasn't until I got my  purple belt that I really started working my closed guard again. 

i never told white belts that closed guard was useless. but i did have this guy i was training who refused to even think about open guard b/c he thought it was too advanced for him. i explained that when you have your guard closed the dude in your guard is going to try to open it. many times he will open your guard then you are forced to play open guard. nowadays, i rarely see anybody use a closed guard.

One thing you will notice a lot of, especially here on the forum, are "lower belts that know it all". You will have blue belts who don't think they are beginners and that talk like they are black belts.