Must you compete?

I find myself progressing at a slow pace based on how often I train, but I do progress and at times I have the opportunity to help others who are a lower rank than me. I love helping people and am a HS science teacher by profession. Some day I would love to teach/coach BJJ when I get to a realistic level to do so (like purple/brown belt).

Honestly, I love BJJ but my life is a whirlwind of work and now there is a baby on the way. I've only competed once in a tournament over a year ago, didn't do so well. Not planning on competing again soon, maybe a year from now.

I suppose my real question here is: am I holding myself back by not competing? Would I be an effective coach and teacher if I don't compete? If I am not a good competitor will it hurt me later (as far as reputation and the ability to really get deep into the game enough to teach on a high level)? I'm 35 now and I know that being a tournament terror is probably not on the plate. What say you?

IMO competing, regardless of the outcome, always teaches us how to be better martial artists.

I think competing is great for developement, but not necessary.

not a necessity at all. Hell, most black belts from brazil don't even compete, but they give the guys who do a serious run for their money all the damn time (told to me by black belts from brazil who DO compete on a regular basis). As long as you are rolling on the mat with everybody, that is what matters.

Think of it this way, how many guys win in tourneys by submission? not alot, heck you can watch alot of tourneys and all they do is trip/takedown a guy down, hold sidemount and stall out to "win". Not really showing off jiujitsu finishing skills at all. So no, you don't need to compete to become better. It CAN help, but its not a necessity.

You've got to compete.

yes.