Need new water heater. Anyone know about Heat Pump Electric Water Heaters?

The electric water heater in the house I bought a year ago is 38 years old. It still works but barely and I had a maintenance check and the lower heating element is corroded and seized up beyond removing, so I’m going to replace it for a new heater. There’s no natural gas utilities in my region so it’s either propane or electric. I don’t want the extra up front cost to switch to propane. With electric I recently learned about Heat Pump water heaters and they’re supposed to be very efficient. Anyone have experience with them?

BTW, I looked into tankless water heaters but with it having to be electric it wouldn’t be cost efficient or fast enough to keep up with on demand.

TTT for day crowd.

I’m no expert but when we redid/added-on to our house a couple years ago I told our plumber I wanted the best tankless water heater. I went to school with him so I trust him.
Anyway, we’ve got 2 that are Navien brand. Was told they were the biggest they carried. We have two because of the way we redid things. Ours are propane but they keep up quite well. No complaints so far🤞 I know that doesnt help you but I’m sure they have something to fit your need.

Was just looking into this a bit myself OP, I’m also out in the country with no nat. gas option. I hate the volatility of propane prices so I think long term a heat pump electric hot water heater is the way to go. If you’re not staying in your house forever, a standard electric water heater may be smarter since the upfront cost is drastically lower and they’re simple.

One thing to keep in mind with all this high efficiency shit, sometimes the lifespan is less than the ROI. Depends on energy costs in your area, also. Caveat emptor.

I have had nothing but problems with Navien, I call their tech support line frequently. They are pretty though. Best of luck.