Need triangle help

I'm fairly new to BJJ (about six months), and the triangle is the technique I have the most trouble with while rolling. I can get my leg up around their head, but I can't for the life of me pull it down and lock the triangle, so I usually just wind up transitioning into an omo platta instead. It feels as if my legs are just too short, but I'm about six feet tall so that can't be it. Anyway, every time I go for it, the guy either sits back or stacks me, both prevent me from locking out the triangle. I guess the problem must be the set up.

Any suggestions?

seems like your not getting your hips up high enough.

move those hips up and push the guys head down with the back of your calf that is over his back of the neck.you should finish the triangle being almost 90 degrees from them

Check the saved threads in the Moreira Roy Jen Q and A. There are quite a few threads about this.

Synopsis:

Keep his head down the whole time by holding onto his head or your shin with one hand. If he tries to stack you, underhook his leg and sweep him.

A problem allot of people I have rolled with have is they put it on are centered to their opponent meaning that all they have to do is stack them up high to break their legs open. When I put it on I make sure not only my hips are up but I am off to the side. If they start defending quickly go with the plata. Triangle is a common move and many people can defend it well. I doubt its your legs I am 5'8.5 I train with all bigger guys and its one of my favorite moves, though I tap out allot of people to it, many times they escape and I have to transition to a sweep or another sub.

Thanks a lot for the info, guys.

I think a lot of beginners are reluctant to release the triangle momentarily to adjust their position off to the side, if they have a crappy triangle locked on.

But this is something that you just have to do, and it's pretty low risk.