newbie questions

Happy Holidays to all :)

I wanted to ask the forum some questions related to street self defense. I have no experience in this area so any info is appreciated :)

What do you think about standing wristlocks? Can you pull this off against a resisting opponent? Strong opponent?

From a defense perpsective, what is your reaction to someone grabbing you by the collar or lapel? Would you go for those wristlocks or throws or would you rather strike him to relinquish the hold? And what if he starts punching you like in a hockey fight?

From an offensive perspective, would you grab/control someone by the collar and try and punch them with your free hand? Is that hand/arm you are using to grab the person really in danger of getting wristlocked or thrown?

Similarly, what about going for throws (like judo) in a streetfight? Or would you rather use standard greco/freestyle wrestling takedowns?

Thanks all! Take care.

I have found that wristlocks work very well on the ground when you have control over your opponent's body and limb. I have had little success using wristlocks when both people were standing. Although, they have entered the mix before and resulted in a takedown or at least improving your position. Hopefully Luis G. or someone else from the forum can shed some light on this on this subject for you. Persoanlly, I would not spend much time training them.

From experience the only thing standing wristlocks do is really make someone mad. Ive used them to get on the ground to get cuffs on.

As far as Judo and collar grabs I have used Uki Goshi and Morote Seoinage.

the only person I have ever met in my life
who could make standing wristlocks work in a
boxing/kickboxing/stand up fighting environment was
Roy Harris. He's the only one I have ever seen do it.

Emen,