Nippon Kenpo

Does anyone have experience in this martial art? They are known in Japan for their devastating punching power and also the "Mach punch". Many experts went on to become famous boxers/kickboxers always carrying with them with their trademark knockout punches. Does anyone have more info on what this system is all about?

I thought Kempo was considered "Chinese Karate"...or something like that...a Chinese hard style martial art which resembled Karate in many ways. In fact, I thought it was influenced by Karate. I'm no expert on this topic. This is just from my observations and overhearing people discuss it. Nippon means Japanese, or rather, Japan...so it would be Japanese Kempo. It seems odd to me that there would be a Japanese Kempo.

No kempo was not influenced by karate. The proper name is "Shorinji
Kempo". Shorinji is the Japanese name for "Shaolin". So the obvious
influence is shaolin temple kung fu. It all came about when some
Japanese monks travelled to Shaolin temple in China for some cultural
and religious exchange (etc) and they brought home some of the kung
fu with them. That's why these days kempo has a mystic image of
monks .. almost cult-ish during the 70s actually.

Ahh, so I got it backwards.

Have you seen the movie "Shaolin Temple" with a very young Jet Li in it?
I did a double take when I saw it again a couple of years ago because
on one very quick shot during the huge battle towards the end, the
head monk was doing what looked very much like kempo moves, it was
amazing because you can immediately see where kempo comes from.

Nippon Kenpo is not related to Shaolin. Kenpo as in Nippon Kenpo is just a generic term for hand-to-hand combat arts. Nippon Kenpo is a modern martial arts created about 70 years ago from old jujutsu atemi, etc. (http://www.nipponkempo.org/profile/pro.htm)

>> They are known in Japan for their devastating punching power and also the "Mach punch." <<