Noob here. taking jiu jitsu. need advice!!!

Whats up crazy bastards. Been lurking here for a couple years and finally made an account. Ill be taking jiu jitsu this august at my college and was wondering if any of ya'll could give me some tips or simple things to do to be ready to go in august. Im 20 and in pretty decent shape. thick. solid. tight. ya know. But seriously, speak to me ug.

Your going to realize your not in shape for jig jitsu, remember to breath

yea I know im not in jiu jitsu shape. I stay pretty active playing sports but that's it. that's why I asked if there were any specific stretches or cardio stuff (besides basic conditioning things) that is good for jitz.

Yeah breathe in your nose out mouth slowly when you get smothered Phone Post 3.0

tnvol16 - Whats up crazy bastards. Been lurking here for a couple years and finally made an account. Ill be taking jiu jitsu this august at my college and was wondering if any of ya'll could give me some tips or simple things to do to be ready to go in august. Im 20 and in pretty decent shape. thick. solid. tight. ya know. But seriously, speak to me ug.

Anchor Down

ricoricoramos - Real advice :

Hygiene , always have fingernails trimmed and clean clothes and recent shower , you will be grappling people all day and no one wants to smell your jock

Roll easy , you sound young and in shape don't try to muscle your way around the gym and slam everyone. Just fall into positions and train to intelligently find away to better your position

Tap before you feel pain , submission escapes can be learned with more time no need to muscle or tough it out in the beginning

In the beginning , no matter how hard you want to roll hard. Tell everyone , just a light roll man. Phone Post 3.0