OG parents - feel bad for disciplining your kids?

Blew my top at my middle kid today.  She was whining, crying and generally having a tantrum.  As she was spazzing out her older sister tried to hold her comfort her and she head butted big sis causing a cut to her mouth.   I know I had to make sure she knew it wasn’t acceptable but I still feel like garbage.  

Discipline always seems to fall on me, and if there’s one thing that will set me off is when the kids hurt each other.  No spanking, but there was yelling and scared the hell out of her.  It’s the part of parenting I like the least.  

It’s a tough balance. Trying to be disciplined, patient when it’s all going crazy and then trying to show them what’s what. In your scenario I’d be pissed too.

I have spanked, try not to but sometimes it’s super necessary. I grew up that way, with the chancla (sandal) and belt to the rear if I acted up. I’d like to think it’s one of the reasons I’m not a peaceful protestor.

You just have to do your best. Explain why afterwards when the dust settles.

Discipline is tough for sure. I remember thinking that spanking was the thing to do because it's how I was raised. I realized early, having a conversation and then handing out additional chores, grounding, etc worked a lot better for my kids. I think it helps them remember why what they did was wrong rather than it being overshadowed by the punishment. 

Fu k no.  Kids need to learn fast before they get older....

danybayamon23 -

It’s a tough balance. Trying to be disciplined, patient when it’s all going crazy and then trying to show them what’s what. In your scenario I’d be pissed too.

I have spanked, try not to but sometimes it’s super necessary. I grew up that way, with the chancla (sandal) and belt to the rear if I acted up. I’d like to think it’s one of the reasons I’m not a peaceful protestor.