On weight gain program...

Hey, I'm just beginning this intensive weight gain program called "Gaining Mass," created by this Anthony Ellis guy. Anyway, in it they stress eating massive amounts of protein each day, taking creatine and other supplements, and unfortunately, cutting out ALL cardio work (including martial arts) which could have negative effects on the weight/strength progress. I was wondering if any other practicing martial artists/boxers/wrestlers has tried a strength program to add muscle, and if so, did all the extra workout sessions hinder your progress? I go to 5 two-three hour MA sessions a week, and lift Mon., Wed., and Fri. Can I do all this and still expect to put on weight, or do I HAVE to cut out the cardio?

"Lastly, when lifting for mass, only do bench, squat and deadlifts"

Why? There are other productive exercises. Chin ups, dips, rows . . . that's just silly.

JuJitsuJoe,

How long have you been training? Are you a beginner lifter or have you been lifting for a while?

That could possibly help us to better answer your question.

Yours,
Beev

Hey guys, thanks for the responses.

"Just curious...how much weight do you want to gain?"

Right now I'm 5'11, 140 pounds, and my goal weight is at least 160. This program follows 26 weeks of dieting/training.

"How long have you been training? Are you a beginner lifter or have you been lifting for a while?"

I'm 18 right now, and have been following various programs since I was 13. I've gotten very lean and my body fat is under 8 percent, but I've only gained about 5 pounds in the past year. I'm pretty sure the problem has been that I don't eat more calories than I burn. So if this program suggests eating 3,000 calories a day for guys who only lift 3 times a week, how much should I add to my program if I'm training 5 additional times a week?