Overhand right advice.

As a tall guy with a long reach the Fedor, Roy Nelson or hendo overhand right is way too telegraphed for me. A little too windmilly for me.

I can land the classic boxing overhand, the one that you kick up your elbow and throw it as more of a downward cross. Not as much power as I hoped for but it is as accurate as hell. Slips around the big gloves well.

Any long armed punchers have any advice on the overhand? I want to get more loop and power behind it but not telegraph it.

Until Wolfman..

Im no pro but in my experience throwing an overhand right the way alot of guys do in mma is a sure way to get yourself knocked out against a competent boxer. I have long limbs and have some problems when they get too close to me. So i use alot of uppercuts, and ironically the overhand right as they come in. I drop my weight a little without dropping my guard and snap it as fast as i can. Otherwise im keeping my distance with hard straights. My friend knocks guys out left and right with an overhand right but only because guys drop their guards when they get hit in the body, plus hes a heavyweight and ex golden glove champ. You dont want loop in your punch. The shorter and straighter the angle, the more power, every time. I dont use the overhand too much, i prefer uppercuts because they tend to be a similiar range for me unless i drop my guard, which i dont like to do unless the other guy is hurt. Dont watch mma for tips on boxing, you will get yourself hurt. Just my opinion. Not sure if it helps or not.<br /><br />-edit It also really depends on what style of fighter you are. Getting more power with that punch usually means guys dropping their guard. If you talk to you coach, just practice the technique over and over and over, eventually you will feel it when its right and your coach will tell you when your doing something stupid to leave yourself open. Also, watch mike tyson.

Uppercuts are my best friend =]