Photographers tell me about prime lenses

For video.

I want to record video with my t1i. I heard primes are great.

Any info, Phone Post 3.0

ttt

Musashi - Great glass is great.

I just dont know what prime lenses are great? Ive had a camera for a long time almost sold it when I was broke but im going to give it a try and for my youtube I hear its great.

I've read that canon 50mm 1.4 and 1.8 are top class for close up portraits and that small an aperture, and they're 150 and 350 bucks respectively. Phone Post 3.0

I'm not a pro it have been shooting with a Canon as well for about 4 years now. I started with a t2i and now have a 5d mark 3... I have several lenses which include a 50 1.4, 85 1.8, 24-70ii, 70-200f4 with is..

Enough about me. Primes are considered better for video because for one you don't have to worry about the f stops changing when you zoom in and out. You want a constant f stop when shooting video. (scene get darker and brighter Sony want the shot consistant)

Also with primes you tend to be able to get a lower f stop than with a zoom. For example my 50 1.4 can shoot constantly in f1.4 Vs my 24-70 can only shoot 2.8 the lowest. (more light with 1.4) Helps with low light shooting although you can just increase the iso. Also can produce a better bokeh (blur) with lower f stops.

If you can get a lense with is (image stabilization) it will greatly help you shoot steady I may likely have confused you more but there are several YouTube videos for you to explore. Good luck! . Phone Post 3.0

MyGodThisMMA - I've read that canon 50mm 1.4 and 1.8 are top class for close up portraits and that small an aperture, and they're 150 and 350 bucks respectively. Phone Post 3.0
I have the 1.4 and I think it's will worth the extra 100 or so if you can afford it over the 1.8.

Build quality much better and the 1.4 is awesome for low light and has a great bokeh Phone Post 3.0

CrAzYiBe -