Probably had this thread 80000 times here

But what's the best gi out there, taking into account price and quality? Thanks :)

Also, if I'm just starting out with gi grappling, do I buy a white belt too? Any protocol with that?

Is 80 low for the price? I figure online I'd be able to find a better deal than in a club...gear just prices out better from a warehouse, usually.

80 is not that low. if it is a questionable gi, pay another 40 for a quality gi.

for you my fren, it's the lucky gi

Mencken - Also, if I'm just starting out with gi grappling, do I buy a white belt too? Any protocol with that?

As far "buying" a whitebelt... NEVER do that --unless you want the BJJ police to do a thread about you.

You need to go through a formal "belting ceremony" where your instructor awards you your belt and gives you a Portuguese nickname. Some schools also do things like give you a symbolic "beating" with an Acai gourd.

Your instructor should have explained all this to you.

Welcome to the forum Ari. I wish you the best of luck on your new journey!

I've not actually joined the club yet. I have a pretty serious time commitment elsewhere until the end of July, so I'll be joining after. I just figured if I'd be ordering online, it'd take a bit to get to me, and so now is better than later.

So how do I roll if I have no belt?

I have a Atama A4 gold weave which I got for 135 shipped and I love it. Was looking for another gi and ordered a Lucky...the A4 right away was to small (inch shorter in the sleeves), so I got the A5. The A5 has shurnk like a judo gi and its sad cause I like the hybrid weave alot.

I just got a Spartan gi and tell you what for the cost I am happy as can be. It was far less then the Lucky, same weave and its a far better gi. The color on the lucky bleeded everywhere the Spartan didn't. The Spartan actually dryed faster too. Check them out for a low cost gi.

You can get HCK singles for an affordable price.

http://www.howardliu.com/catalog/bjj/single.htm