progression and goals

Many people grow frustrated in bjj because of slow rank, lack of perceived improvement and failure of instructors to recognize improvement or provide meaningful feedback. I had an idea over the week end that game progression could be evaluated and measured.

This would facilitate training focus, measuring and accomplishing goals. My idea is that you can score yourself on a scale of 1 to 100 in various areas to assess strengths, weaknesses and goals.

The system could consist of, as an example, belt equivalents to the score numbers.
The system could consist of, as an example, belt equivalents to the score numbers.
White to 20
Blue to 45
Purple to 70
Brown to 85
Black above 85

This, the belt equivalent, is only a general idea. Many factors exist in jiu jitsu progression. An absolute beginner would benefit most from evaluating progression on only a few areas-as all areas would have low scores.

Certain belt levels should devote greater amounts of time to certain tasks and attributes. As an example, white belt should be developing conditioning and escapes from bottom to a greater extent than flying triangles.

Competitors often do not require as great of breadth (large number) of techniques as they may require a high level of skill (depth) in a limited number of techniques. Therefore, your goal may not be to have a score of 50 in each technique.

The ability to utilize a technique against a resisting opponent of similar skill level is important and requires many factors beyond the mechanics of a certain move. Execution requires setups/timing, physical abilities, the mechanics of the move, and then transitions/follow ups to other techniques.