Purple Belt Blues

Here's my situation.

I have been training for the last two 2 years in Japan (Tri-Force) and recently received my purple belt.

It was a bitter sweet moment for me as the next week I moved to Australia.

Now, I think I have become accustomed to rolling with smaller , lighter guys cuz I am having real issues with some of the big fellas in Oz.

I'm 74kg and the guys I am training with are regularly 85-97kg.

Its little things that are getting me. I pass guard and they can roll out, I take the back and they can just rip my hook off.

What training ideas do people recommend who have made a similar transition?

I'm living with a Greek family and lamb and cheese are pretty much part of every meal so you might be right.

Different school, different games and body types than you're used to. I wouldn't overthink it. Just keep training and enjoy growing into your belt (literally and figuratively)

What part of Oz are you in dude?

do you train with Gracie Oceania in Marickville ...

Who are you Basher??

lol

maybe

Peter

I'm in Sydney.

The Basher is on to me.

:)

Keep your head up!

Dont get me wrong guys I'm not down about this I'm just looking for some pointers about how to handle larger opponents.

BTW the big guys are technical too.

Something I've been realizing as a purple is focusing on staying tighter and keeping the mindset that position above all else. Especially realizing the power of playing top. I play a lot with the lower belts and get to top then finish and what not really made me lazy, even playing bottom with lower belts made me lazy in general. When I go against better guys I'm so used to just going for things I get swept or basically lose good position because I was too open or chose to attack when I did not have complete control of everything. I shouldn't "just" go for things, I need to be committed.

-First I got to side and then hunted for the sub