Question about rights with police

Backstory. My brother let me borrow his big screen tv a couple months ago when I didnt have one. Just got my own so I was walking the tv to his house today since he only lives a half mile away.

While walking, I was stopped by unmarked detectives who asked me whos tv it was, where I was going. Where i lived, the number of the house and if i lived up and downstairs. Asked for my id. I did all this because I had nothing to hide but i felt somewhat violated.

Am i required to do all these things? I am a law abiding citizen. I am new to this town and have never had contact with this towns police force at all. I understand it may look suspicious but I cant walk down the street with a tv without being stopped and questioned?

And to top it off, as they were leaving, i said, you guys dont have to worry about me. He said, "thats what Jeffery Dhamer said". Like fuck you, buddy.

Any answers would be helpful as i dont know where else to ask. Just wanna know my rights.

Uh you walked half a mile with A TV? Is this a spin?

No. Im not a lazy bastard. Dont have a car at the moment so I just walked it. So what?

I want cops stopping anyone in my neighbourhood walking around with a big screen TV and so should you.

lol They have the right to stop and investigate suspicious shit.

Would have done the same in your shoes and it would have been fine with me, however his comment after is him being a dick when it sounds like you were being cool with it all. To me that's just a guy who is a pos

You would not have to show your ID, you would need to give them your name.

Depending on the state you may have to give them your name and address, and possibly the vaguest explanation of how you got there. 

You could tell them you were bird watching, allthough also depending on the state they could civil asset forfeiture almost anything and rob you without charging you with anything because fuck the police.