Question regarding business and websites, frens

So I have an idea for a business that would more or less be built around a website.

My technical skills as far as building websites are very limited at the moment. The site I would need to build would be more than just a plain HTML site people can read. I would need the functionality of people creating their own accounts, posting things, etc.

So I have 2 questions, 1 of them more technical and 1 more business related:

1. How long would it take someone who's typically pretty good at learning new things to learn enough about web development to make something like this from scratch? If I studied/worked on it 10-15 hrs a week, could I be somewhere in 6 months? A year?

2. I'm sure I could find someone with the technical skills who would be willing to partner up with me for either cash or small ownership in the business... (hopefully) but then I lose long term potential of owning the whole things. What are your thoughts on this?

If there is a major site with similar functionality a lot of times you can buy a clone script or a plugin that can add the functionality you're looking for. If that's the case and you don't have to do 100% custom development then there really isn't much of a learning curve, just following instructions.

Here is some info for you to look over. Also, my good friend does this for a living and has a pretty informative blog/website about this. geekfree dot net

No, here is the info.

http://www.shopify.com/website-builder-html

Would a forum like this site work for what you're trying to do? Would a blog that allowed guest posting do what you're trying to do?

Both of those examples are sites where users can register and add content. If the answer is yes to either of those questions, without experience you can have a site up and running in under a day.

Thanks for the info so far guys. If anyone else has anything, I'm all ears. Phone Post

MarsMan -