Ray Cappo (YOT Frontman) Talks BJJ, 10th Planet...

Aware it's all the rage on the UG to love/hate 10th Planet again at the moment, a fairly topical interview is up over at FIGHT! from legendary hardcore frontman Ray Cappo, of Youth of Today, Shelter and Better Than A Thousand.

He talks of his early BJJ training under the Machados, going no-gi with Bravo and earning a living as a yoga instructor.

It was an odd combination: one of the forefathers of straight edge hardcore training with a jiu-jitsu instructor who was unapologetically devoted to the joys of cannabis. Cappo’s abstinence from drugs and alcohol and his strict vegetarian diet made him the butt of playful jokes inside the academy. “I always felt secure in who I was, and I’m still very secure in that,” he says. “As far as Eddie goes, I felt like he had something pretty valuable, so I thought, I’m just a student and I’ll take what I want and don’t take the other stuff. And I think they respected me—if you put in so many mat hours, they have a type of respect for you as a cultured fighter.”

He also goes into diets, living off juice for 18 days and being the fittest he's ever been as a consequence amongst other stuff.

Check it out:

http://news.fightmagazine.com/disengage-ray-cappo-is-in-the-world-but-not-of-it-3675/

Ray, in his former role.

Pretty slick. Ray has always been a cool dude.

As a semi-controversial statement though I'll say I liked Bold more than YOT.

Iron Yuppie - Pretty slick. Ray has always been a cool dude.

As a semi-controversial statement though I'll say I liked Bold more than YOT.

Saw Bold when they did their reunion tour a few years ago. I preferred the Crippled Youth stuff!

Interesting stuff. I preferred Judge to either Bold or YoT.

I liked Judge, I came out to their cover of Blitz's "warriors" for one of my fights... Judge weren't really Youth Crew like those other guys though. Bit harder.