Recommend a good Linux distro

I've been using Mandrake for a couple of years now but some changes* they made in 9.2 have ticked me off to the point of looking for a better distro. Prior to using Mandrake I was using RedHat but it didn't work with the video driver on a PC I bought at the time so I switched to Mandrake which worked much better. Now I suppose that a switch back to RedHat is out of the question since they've announced their new business plan. Anyway, I looking for a relatively easy to install distro. I'll be running Apache 2 with php and mysql with ssl enabled. Any suggestions greatly appreciated.

* Mandrake 9.2 (unlike 9.1) hid the root login when logging into a GUI. To add root to the GUI login menu you had to boot with KDE and dig through some obscure configuration screens, none of which was documented anywhere I could find on Mandrake's web site. Mandrake also changed some of the base install programs so that to run install php for Apache you had to manually install some other apps like flex which was a huge, and unnecessary, PIA.

www.gentoo.org

I second Gentoo.

gracias, I'm downloading the iso's right now

Make sure that you follow the installation guides because they're very nearly idiot proof. Even a beginner with a little linux experience could follow them.

i heard that suse was the best

"Make sure that you follow the installation guides because they're very nearly idiot proof. Even a beginner with a little linux experience could follow them. "