ROSS without prior MA experience

Since I own about 90% of the ROSS videos, I'll chime in with my two cents.

To give you context, I own an extensive library of instructionals including 80% of Tony Blauer's material, most of WMA's series, Ralph Gracie's series, Straight Blast gym series, etc.

Scott's IOUF, Shockability, and now Arthrokinetics helps me look at my more traditional instructional tapes with a more conceptual eye and helps me dissect the effectiveness and subtleties of various "techniques" taught. The tapes are advanced in the sense that they go far beyond the "Response A for Stimulus B" approach of technique tapes. They are essential basics in the sense that they explain the underpinnings of HOW and WHY things work in the context of biomechanics and psychophysiology.

So my advice to you. IF you are on a budget as a student, I'd recommend first and foremost the Grappler's Toolbox. To this day after owning it over a year, I have yet to master everything in it. It covers not only the drills, but the underlying concepts that Scott builds upon in his more targeted series. Spend 6 months solely on drilling the hell out of what's taught on that series before purchasing the others.

IF you have discretionary funds at your disposal, then go for one of AMEROSS's package deals that include the videos that interest you. THEN still spend at least 3 months studying and drilling the hell out of the Grappler's Toolbox before you even open the other series. Treat the GT as your prerequisite course and IOUF, Shockability and Arthrokinetics as electives to be studied later.

As an aside, if you there is one tape you MUST have from the Zdorovye series its the Dykhaniye Respiratory Enhancement tape. Being someone who hates "cardio" it has gone a long way in improving my endurance and fear-reactivity during training.