Rpgs with crappy autosaves.

Playing The Witcher 2 for the first time, just got it for Christmas.

I just died and my last save was over an hour and a half old. Fml.

I hate rpgs that have a shitty autosave function. I like the standard "save anytime exiting/entering a zone."

I'm sure I'll go back because it has been cool but that's really turned me off of it for the moment. I'll be starting AC3 tomorrow. Phone Post

Always used to turn autosaves off, the cache from autosave used to crash my system and make it seem slow, used to save manually. And have come unstuck a few times! Phone Post

I started playing Fallout 3.  Got about 3 hours in and then game hung.  Rebooted and the last autosave it had was about 30 minutes into the game.

I promptly said "Fuck this", and never touched it again.

I wasn't enjoying it anyway, but I would have given it probably 8-10 hours to get better before bailing.  But no way was I replaying 2 1/2 hours of boring ass gameplay I already went through once.

The first Mass Effect was the same way. If you didn't manually save within a level and you died, you would start the whole damn mission over. Phone Post

In addition to poorly spaced autosaves, another problem is when a save file gets corrupted for some reason and can no longer be opened. I've had times happen a few times with (IIRC) various rgs like fallout 3, oblivion and lords of magic(an RTS/RPG hybrid.)

It's because of this that I got into the habit of doing hard saves frequently. It also helps, if I want to replay a decision point in the game(not to spoil much but the witcher 2 has a major one as a fair warning)

another reason dragon age series has succeeded.  multiple autosave files per character at different intervuls and types of story/location points to save.  one of the few things they got exceptionally well done.

Farcrys pretty dumb. Phone Post

dragon's dogma.

I had to learn quickly to save a LOT.

Flexo - Farcrys pretty dumb. Phone Post