Running a Successful MA School

I wanted to get some input on how to start and run a martial arts school. What are some of the mistakes you made and some of the key principals you have that makes your business a success.

I've been training in some kind of martial art for about 10 years. For the last 5 1/2 I've been in Dallas with Carlos Machado. I've got a 2-3 year plan where I really want to focus on my training, get some things paid off, then move to open my own school.

While in College I helped a guy run a Hapkido School and I saw first hand what not to do. He opened a place in a strip mall with a big overhead in rent, had no other income except the school and supported a family with that. We did one bulk mailing of flyers but that was it for advertising. We started to get a few students from walk-ins but nothing close to what he needed to stay afloat.

My plan is to start on a shoe sting budget. I will either start a club at a local University or Community College, Fitness Center/Gym, or try to partner with an existing standup martial arts school. I will keep a day job until I can at least meet my mortgage payments. Then I can always do some odd jobs for extra money once I build my core student base up. Also, once the student base is built we can look for a different location if the original arrangement is no longer suitable.

As a mission statement I would really like to provide a training environment that promotes a healthy lifestyle with realistic training focussing on improving my students both physically and mentally.

With 60% of Amercians overweight and childhood obesity at an epedimic level I would like to run a successful childrens class. I think this is a big market for this as a lot of grappling schools don't target kids. This could also provide a huge amount of revenue. There are a lot of parents who won't spend time or money for themselves but don't mind investing the money in their children.