Running

Coach, Im in the Military, I'm getting old and my speed is dropping fast, mabey you can help.

Here is my workout

I have been running for years but a few months ago I change diet and workout to get faster.

I run every other day, It usually consist of a three to five mile run. I just moved to a new area that is filled with rolling hills, so the runs are pretty intense.

If I run for 30 minutes, I then get on an elipical machine, Norditrack or some other machine that is low impact for another 20 to 30 minutes.

Once a week I go to a track and sprint 6-8 laps of 440's, or I do interval training on a run if I cant get to the track.

On the off days I do a low impact cardio workout for at least 30 minutes.

One day a week I rest and recover.

I get up in the morning and have a bowl of cereal, a meal replacement, a few hours later I have a Banana, an energy bar (many brands) lunch is light, mabey a sandwich, another energy bar a few hours later, a meal replacement or light high protien dinner. And of course some protien drinks in there.

I have dropped my weight training down so I can lose weight, I was lifting heavy and carried alot of muscle.

In the last 6 weeks I have dropped 13 pounds and my speed is improving. But I need to knock another minute off my 2 mile run time.

Any suggestions?

Suggestions? Not until you meet diminish returns on your current attack. "Don't fix what ain't broke."

However, here are a few regardless:

Change your gait, not your circumstances in order to lower the impact. Forget the gerbil wheels. Stay outside and continue your run. You'll find that you'll be able to go faster than in the "iron coffin."

Quit the meal replacement and protien stuff, and eat whole organic foods. Drink water with lemon (homebrew) rather than water.