Secret of GSP's background

I swore to myself that I would never come on this forum and be one of those people that say I told you so, but to all those people that I have spoken with this week that looked at me like I was on crack when I said that, "GSP would win by out wrestling Koschek and deliver some ground and pound", I TOLD YOU SO!!!!!!

Here is the what most of you don't know about George's wrestling experience. I am a wrestling coach in Canada and we have one of the best technical coaches in the world named Victor Zilberman (formally a Soviet Champion). He runs a small but very elite program in Montreal that currently has in its room World Champions and Olympic Medalists. For many years George has trained with wrestlers that would simply destroy most NCAA all-americans (to be an all-american you have to place top seven at the college nationals). Even though George has not had the competitive exposure/experience that Josh has had, he never-the-less has had some of the best wrestlers on the planet to train with and has done so for a very long time. George regularly scores takedowns on the kind of wrestlers that Koschek has NEVER beaten in competition. By the way, George has wrestled in smaller tournaments and has won them.

Also, in MMA a fighter's ability to get takedowns is very much dependant on how they can set it up with their strikes. Look at the begining of the second round when George came in for two consecutive combinations that forced Josh to deal with and turn his mind to George's striking. One the third time George came in and was simply able to lower his level and blow right through a frozen Koschek.

He has outgrappeled Koschek, Trigg, Hughes, Sherk, Parisian so my question to this forum is, "can we now all agree that GSP is in fact the best MMA wrestler at 170lb. in the UFC??"

Agreed.

someone please ban sdfman for stupidity...

no belt=not best 170lb'r

lol agreed about sdfman