Some advice please

Hi,

I am a 1 strip white belt and I have been training for approximately 9 months now. I currently train only during the day and with a group of 2 or 3 of the same guys. My instructors is a 1 stripe purple and the other guys are either blue or 3-4 stripe white. I am by far the most junior of the group. While rolling on Tuesday I was getting discourage because I was always in defend mode. It's getting frustrating because I can't tell if I am getting any better, because my partners are all better than me. My instructor some times lets me get a gi-choke on him, but then he usually works his way out of it. It is getting a little discouraging.

I am gonna talk with my instructor about it, but I wanted to see if y'all had any advice.

Kevin

It's called "paying your dues". Against a better player, you will be constantly defending. This is very normal. It's the most normal thing in the world. Don't worry about it.

Go home after each session and think about what you did right and what you didn't do right. What could you possibly have done in those situations. Remind yourself that you WILL get better, even though you are one of the physically weakest members of your gym - like me, f.ex. (even though I'm of average height and weight).

Give yourself a pat on the back if you only managed to escape ONCE from an inferior position, like f.ex. the side mount or the guard. When you get a bit better, you will be going home after each session and thinking - wow, I got one kimura and one armbar. But when you're beginning, and even sometimes after that, you will go home thinking - wow, I escaped once from the side mount (even though you got tapped 42 times that evening). After a few sessions, see if you can't escape two times. This is great. Pat yourself on the back!