Soup principles

I'm new to making soups, but recently turned on to eating them. Forget specific recipes, let's talk PRINCIPLES. Here's what I've been doing so far:

Simmer for 1-2 hrs. Chicken legs w/ combinations of carrot, parsnips, celery, potato, onion, garlic, black & white pepper, sea salt. Shrimp added at the end. everything in small chunks, potato, garlic and onion - very small.

Please add various suggestions/configurations. ESPECIALLY, for a slightly sweet, tomato-beef concoction (ever had PHO? - their beef stew..)

don't hard boil soup/stews, simmer

i usually add my cooked starch, ie: pasta/rice, separately right before serving

Ever consider a pressure cooker? I've never used one, but they're supposed to cut the time down to about 1/3 of the normal time.

Am I the only one who likes soup?

In case anybody cares, here's something I picked up recently. Joints are best for soup. I have been doing chicken base exclusively so far, and always used to throw out the tips of chicken wings (the 3rd part). Tonight I made wings and a soup with all the wing tips and a few of the non-drumstick wing parts, and it came out amazing.

How about some tips for beef?

The most important two:

sterilization - always bring to a rolling boil once all the ingredients are in and simmer afterwards.

rapid refrigeration - if making a large quantity of soup ( > 1 gallon), kickstart the refrigeration by using the freezer and inserting sealed icepacks into the soup. The objective is to get under 40 F in less than 30 minutes.

Soup is, bar none, the #1 source of foodbourne illness. The liquid helps bacteria multiply at incredible rates..exponentially higher than solid food.

I've seen, first hand, catastrophic results of someone putting a large batch of soup in the fridge overnight, not realizing that it can take 24 hours for a normal fridge to cool down that kind of mass.

ttt