strength training confusion

Hey guys I'm new to weight training...I need help...I'm interested in STRENGTH TRAINING...but I don't understand the difference between this and putting on BULK! I would love to be able to do both but I would like to be as strong as possible! My upper body is as weak as can be...
Please provide me with a program...I have gotten advice to do a PYRAMID scheme...light then heavy till you max out! Is this good for STRENGTH???

heman,
before you try and workout you have to establish a base line of strength.i would suggest doing one or 2 body parts per day .start out doing 8-10 reps per set.keepp your sets to three.do this workout for 2months or so.after you have built some strength and learned proper form you can move on to other programs.just to give you an idea,to gain size you have to work heavy and use low reps 2-4.pyrmiding is a good workout,but that is down the road for you.be consisstant,be intense.i have dozens of workouts icould send you.let me know.good luck jim

gentle jim, why do you suggest doing this. First you say he has to establish a baseline of strength by doing 8-10 reps per set. Then you go on to explain that strength is gained primarily in rep ranges significantly lower than what you've espoused he ought to be doing. I think if a person wants strength they ought to train for it...from the first session. Now, I don't mean that I feel they ought to be using max poundages initially, but they don't need to be doing size gaining programs when that's not what they want.