supplements for high blood suger??

My wife was just diagnossed with high blood sugsr. Aside from any medication prescribed is there any vitamin/mineral supplements of special value? Any feedback is appreciated.

well firstly cut out the cause of the prob through dietary modification, then look into taking high doses of:

R-alpha lipoic Acid - approx 700mg/day

chromium piccolinate - Mineral supplement 400mcg per day

Get a good Insoluble/soluble fibre supplement and take it every day (bran/physllium husk supp).

eat more vegetables - green leafy variety!!!!

Increase exercise!!!!!

Im studying Nutrition at university and my father is Borderline type 2 and since i gave these supps to him his blood/glucose levels have fallen!

Most importantly - get them to do exercise - by far and away the best defence!

Read the testimonials at www.bjjequipment.com\phyto.asp

This stuff (Phytoplankton) is new. It has never been produced as a supplement (couldn't get the little buggers out of the water) until January, 2006.

"The largest fish, a plankton eating whale shark, lives for over 150 years, grows up to 14 meters long, weighs up to 15 tons, and is sexually active until it dies."

ya I need to get some of that

sputniik is right on. A combo of garlic and hawthorn berry may be a big help also.

cinnamon can be helpfull. get it cheap in bulk at larger walmarts. if you can't deal with the taste, capsules are available. for studies google cinnamon diabetes

there is also some research on green coffee bean. google coffee bean diabetes

The best thing is to first make sure that your body has everything that it needs to do its job in taking care of itself (nutrition).

As for supplements, a new and pretty amazing (based on anecdotal evidence) dietary supplement is Phytoplankton (Marine Microalge) from the west coast of Canada.

Compare it to any vitamin or other supplement.. You will see...