Tell me about Vector Marketing

I have been left quite a few voice mails from this company regarding working for them. I am being told to stay away (which I am doing) and they keep telling me I will start off at $18 an hour. Is this another company similar to Primerica?

So I am a knife salesman? No thanks I got a decent job.

My little bro did it for his first job in the late 90's. He did alright and it was a good intro to sales for him. There are better companies though. The knives are junk, for the price there is a lot better stuff available. Ask any chef.

While most of these people speak from hersey I will give you an honest opinion from experience.

I worked for Vector for 4 years during college. The experience can be either really bad or really amazing. I know from all aspects as I went from Sales rep, to an assistant manager, to a sales manager.

Pros:
Excellent Money (Made like 40k in 4 summers)
Great people
Great work experience (if you are in college. I got accepted into a national training program for a fortune 100 company that accepts 7 students a year. I had a 3.2 they required a 3.5 The first thing the COO said to me during my interview was "You have the lowest GPA of anyone I have ever interviewed" It was definatly my experience.)

Cons:
Requires a LOT of work to be good at.
Will eat away your summer free time.
Need a high tolerance for the ups and downs of sales.
Need to understand you are a SALES MEN/WOMAN and they expect you to sell.

Hope that helps.

Thanks for the info Ron.

Is this job just for students? I just got out of college and I started my career.

Thanks. Im definately staying away.

"I am being told to stay away (which I am doing) and they keep telling me I will start off at $18 an hour."

It is NOT 18 an hour...it's 18 an APPOINTMENT. REREAD it carefully...18 an appointment...so if u have only 1 appointment in 1 week...do the math. Vector is a bull shit company...u have to PAY THEM to get the kniveS to sell...wtf???