the CM Punk hate makes no sense

He's got the guts to climb into the cage & fight. How could people hate on that? Same when James Toney fought in the UFC. As easy as it was to hate on Toney (did u see his interviews before the Couture fight?) mma fans actually respected him for climbing into the UFC cage. As far as Phil Brooks goes he might legit get his face smashed in when he debuts but at least he's shown the courage to do it. Weather he loses or not I'll be watching his debut that much is certain.

He's been respectful of mma for a long time... Yet he's not getting any in return. All the fighters should be begging to be on his card because of the eyes that will be there. Phone Post 3.0

Because it's stupid.

I get that he's a fan and has been doing BJJ when he can over the past few years.

However, the guy has never competed in anything in his life, yet he is somehow qualified to fight in the UFC?

I don't hate the idea of him wanting to try MMA. I get that, and I'm a huge pro wrestling fan (even though I wasn't really much of a fan of Punk).

What I don't like is how the UFC is devaluing it's own product by essentially bringing in a celebrity to fight just because they believe people will watch it. What's worse is that they are going to bring in somebody they would never consider signing just so they have an opponent that Punk has a chance of beating.

Personally, I "hate" the fact that the UFC let a guy with absolutely zero fighting experience into the big leagues more than anything. Nothing on CM Punk at all, he's got the balls to step up and give it a shot which is admirable but this tarnishes the UFC's legitimacy as the elite MMA organization. It was "ok" in Pride back in those days and also being in Japan and what not but not now and not when there's actual fighters out there who earned/deserve a spot at fighting in the UFC more than he does. Phone Post 3.0

MoneyMO - Because it's stupid.