The direction of BJJ makes me sad

I started training in December of ‘94. Back then everything in BJJ was about fighting and self defense. I just finished Rickson’s book and couldn’t agree with him more that it’s sad so many people are getting black belts and all they train is sport BJJ. I know things change over time but it just seems like the soul of the art has vanished. I hate that new students want to learn worm guard and berimbolos just to get a tap in class instead of learning to manage distance, defense against strikes etc. I was watching Routulo’s buggy choke and think it’s a serious devolution. I mean it would be so easy for someone to stand up and spike you on your head as all 4 extremities are locked up to make the choke work yet you are going to die if you did that to a big strong person on the street. RIP BJJ.

22 Likes

I started in 1996. Recently had a purple belt come to my school and he asked me work some “single x guard” (or something like that) with him. Long story short … he couldn’t even do a decent kimura from side control without me sneezing and him falling off …
It’s sad what is happening.

7 Likes

Jiu jitsu is a sport to me. It’s highly overrated for self defense unless it’s completely clueless and untrained perps. The culture aspect of it is largely shit and toxic. But it’s a fun combat sport. It’s a good reason to stay In shape and compete semi regularly.

6 Likes

I was watching a No-Gi tournament here in Germany and I would sum it up in two words: Leglocks & Chaos;-)

A lot of the modern athletes (not the top ones of course) try to copy the most flashy and sucessfull moves without having the basics down. And then things become crazy.

Personally I have nothing against modern stuff but you have to have a complete game and understand how to use BJJ for real fighting. That´s the foundation.

4 Likes

All the elite guys do. The adcc qualifiers are always filled with a bunch of unqualified wannabes.